Preview – TELSTRA Australian Mountain Running Championships – Saturday 16 June

Telstra Australian Mountain Running Championships

Mt Majura, Canberra

Saturday 16 June

North Canberra-Gungahlin Athletic Club’s Scott McTaggart is primed to take out his third successive Australian mountain running title this Saturday but is expecting a fierce duel with Wollongong’s Stephen Brown of the Kembla Joggers Club. A former Australian junior champion, Brown has been in scintillating form this year after representing Australia in the senior ranks during the last two years and performing well in the World Mountain Running Association Grand Prix series last year. Former Australian representative Adam Leane of Weston Creek and former Australian junior cross country champion Mark Bourne of Woden Harriers will be contenders for placings, with Melbourne University’s Daniel Kolsky and 2006 Australian representative Stuart Doyle of South Canberra Tuggeranong also in the mix.

Two-time world long distance champion and defending Australian champion Emma Murray will be absent as she focuses on training to defend her world title in September in the Jungfrau alpine marathon in Switzerland. In form Canberra runner Vanessa Haverd is pre-race favourite with Sarah Scrivener of Mingara Athletics Club on the NSW Central Coast, 2006 Australian representative Jessamy Hosking, former Australian representative Angela Bateup, and Queenslander Hubertien Wichers other contenders.

The junior championships feature two world class competitors in Ben Guest and Veronica Wallington. Two years ago Guest of Gosford Athletics Club finished 11th in the World Junior Mountain Running Championships as a 16 year old. He is now older, stronger, fitter and more experienced internationally after competing in the 2007 World Junior Cross Country Championships. The placings should go to his well performed clubmates Kevin Batt and Cameron Page.

The junior girl’s championship field includes the brilliant Veronica Wallington of Canowindra, a member of St George Athletics Club. Wallington smashed Emma Murray’s open course record by over a minute in the ACT Championship in May and has the talent to be up in the top ten in the world junior championship.

The veterans’ championships include world M50 long distance mountain running champion Trevor Jacobs and two runners who won bronze medals in the World Duathlon Championships only a fortnight ago, W60 Caroline Campbell and M75 Rad Leovic. Seventy-nine year old Leovic is one of five runners in the M70 field who will be running a 4.4km course to the Majura summit and return.



4.4kms Des Middleton 60 M60 VIC
4.4kms Bruce Wilson 62 M60 WA
4.4kms Geoff Barker 62 M60 ACT
4.4kms Tony Krantzcke 71 M70 NSW
4.4kms Robert Chapman 72 M70 ACT
4.4kms Ray Bramwell 72 M70 ACT
4.4kms Max Scherleitner 76 M75 NSW
4.4kms Rad Leovic 79 M75 ACT
4.4kms Julie Colbran 51 W50 ACT
4.4kms Sandra Middleton 58 W55 VIC
4.4kms Caroline Campbell 64 W60 ACT
4.7kms Veronica Wallington 16 U18 NSW
4.7kms Charlotte Wilson 15 U16 NSW
4.7kms Bridey Delaney 17 U18 NSW
4.7kms Lauren McKillop 16 U18 NSW
4.7kms Alexis McKillop 17 U18 NSW
8.8kms Kim Delaney 50 M50 NSW
8.8kms Steve Appleby 53 M50 ACT
8.8kms Kevin Wills 55 M55 NSW
8.8kms Trevor Jacobs 55 M55 ACT
8.8kms Peter Clarke 56 M55 ACT
8.8kms Clive Vogel 57 M55 NSW
8.8kms Bill Hick 59 M55 NSW
9kms Jessamy Hosking 24 Open ACT
9kms Vanessa Haverd 30 Open ACT
9kms Sarah Scrivener 31 Open NSW
9kms Angela Bateup 37 W35 NSW
9kms Fleur Flanery 38 W35 NSW
9kms Hubertien Wichers 41 W40 QLD
9kms Lynette Delaney 41 W40 NSW
9kms Narelle Patrick 44 W40 NSW
9kms Colleen Beven 45 W45 NSW
9kms Thomas Delaney 16 U18 NSW
9kms David Ricketts 16 U18 NSW
9kms Kevin Batt 16 U18 NSW
9kms Cameron Page 16 U18 NSW
9kms Nam Currie-Nguyen 17 U18 NSW
9kms Matthew Bayley 18 U20 VIC
9kms Ben Guest 18 U20 NSW
13.3kms Chris Mullen   Open NSW
13.3kms Daniel Kolsky 21 Open VIC
13.3kms Stephen Brown 22 Open NSW
13.3kms Mark Bourne 23 Open ACT
13.3kms Steven Deveney 26 Open NSW
13.3kms Scott McTaggart 30 Open ACT
13.3kms Chadi Elashkar 30 Open NSW
13.3kms Adam Leane 33 Open ACT
13.3kms Ashley Cooper 33 Open NSW
13.3kms Darren McCllellan 35 M35 NSW
13.3kms David Hosking 39 M35 ACT
13.3kms Stuart Doyle 40 M40 ACT
13.3kms Damian Green 41 M40 ACT
13.3kms Ross McGarvie 44 M40 NSW
13.3kms Rob Ginnivan 42 M40 ACT
13.3kms Mick Corlis 48 M45 ACT
13.3kms Geoff Stalker 48 M45 NSW
13.3kms Paul Bruce 49 M45 NSW
13.3kms Trevor Jacobs 55 M55 ACT