Deep Space Marathon – preliminary results

Deep Space Mountain Marathon
Honeysuckle Creek ACT

Sunday 2 December


World veteran mountain running champion Trevor Jacobs stormed home in the final two kilometres to take out today’s Deep Space Mountain Marathon in Namadgi National Park. However, the honours of the day went to runner-up Angela Bateup from Yass.

The 43.4 km run with 1800 metres of climb up Mt Tennent and the Orroral range was a selection race for the Australian team for the World Long Distance Mountain Running Championship in England in April next year. Bateup booked a spot in the team with a courageous front running effort up Mt Tennent that she consolidated in the return to Honeysuckle Creek where she was three minutes in front of the whole field at the 25 km mark. The remaining 18 kms involved another 280 m climb in altitude to the Collimination Tower lookout on the Orroral ridge followed by a 450 m drop into the Orroral Valley before returning to Honeysuckle. Jacobs began making his move after the Orroral River turn but did not finally catch Bateup until the final downhill run to the finish. His win in 3 hrs 49 mins 52 secs adds to his legendary status in Canberra distance running which culminated in the M50 world long distance mountain running title in 2006 and the M55 world classic distance title this year.


Bateup’s win in 3:50:30 was a world class effort approaching the stratosphere of some of the efforts of former world champion Emma Murray. Fortuitously the next two female finishers were also from Yass, Fleur Flanery clocking 4:20:21 and Narelle Patrick 4:25:54.

The male place getters were CSIRO scientist Tony Swan from Canberra in 3:54:51 and Tasmanian Alan Hood in 4:01:52.

Wagga Wagga runner Peter Fitzpatrick emerged as a potential M60 world championship medallist after a strong run to finish 7th outright in 4:25:31.

Peter Johnson won the 25 km race in 2:14:48 from Steve Nolan and Tim Cochrane, while Kelley Flood was fastest female in 2:40:48 from Dorothy Williams.

The 18 km race was taken out in 1:49:51 by Chris Dean from a blister-affected Hugh Moore and veteran Geoff Barker. W50 Cathy Crompton was fastest female and second outright in an outstanding 1:51:29, with Michelle Elmitt and Diana Schneider next.

Adam Ryan won the 8.4 km run to the Collimination Tower lookout and back in 38:15 from Michael Burt and Jared Henry, while Jo Lane was fastest female in 48:31, with Jenny Davies and Tamra Henry next.

Released by:

John Harding
Australian Mountain Running Association