Race Update and Annual General Meeting

Black Mountain Challenge, Sunday 13 December

Nick Jessamy

New Zealand runner Nick Horspool (pictured with race sponsor Brian Wenn of the Runners Shop) had a 20 second win over former Australian champion Dave Osmond and veteran champion Stuart Doyle in the Black Mountain Challenge over 5kms from Black Mountain peninsular to the mountain summit along the bike path and road. Jessamy Hosking (pictured finishing), 9th in the Commonwealth Mountain Running Championship, held off Vanessa Haverd, 7th in the World Long Distance Mountain Running Championship, to be fastest female. Judith May, a former dual Australian mountain running champion, was third.

Coast to Kosciusko 246kms, Friday 11 December

Official results have yet to be posted on the race website http://www.c2k.ultraoz.com

Unofficially Jo Blake and Pam Muston have set new race records of 26:01:40 and 32:31:00. Carl Barker was second in 31:27 and Phil Murphy third in 31:44. Susannah Harvey-Jamieson was second female in 34:15. It appears that both Meredith Quinlan and Alison Lilley also bettered Allison\’s old record of 40 hours.

This 246 km run starts at Boydtown Beach near Eden and goes to the summit of Mt Kosciusko before finishing at Charlotte\’s Pass.

Kepler Challenge, 60kms, Te Anau, New Zealand, Saturday 5 December

Canberra’s Vanessa Haverd, 7th in the World Long Distance Mountain Running Championship, was fastest female and 10th outright in this year’s Kepler Challenge in 5:53:08. New Zealander’s Deb Nicholl and Jean Beaumont were runners up in 5:56:45 and 6:32:24.

The men’s race went to Christchurch’s Martin Lukes in 4:57:21 from Dunedin’s Norman Dunroy in 5:06:40, with Sydney’s Galen Burrell third in 5:17:40, Canberra’s John Winsbury 4th in 5:22:57 and Ballarat’s Steve Moneghetti 8th in 5:48:22.

See www.keplerchallenge.co.nz for full results.

Australian Mountain Running Association Annual General Meeting, Sunday 20 December

The AMRA AGM will be held next Sunday at the Tour de Mountain run in Canberra, at approximately 9.45am, following the presentation of awards for the Tour at the Mawson sportsfields, Beasley Street, Mawson. Positions up for election include President, Vice President, Secretary, Treasurer, and three Committee members.