Osmond wins again on Mt Ainslie

Mt Ainslie Run Up, 2.3 kms, 200m climb
Tuesday 5 October

Former Australian champion David Osmond won the October Mt Ainslie Run Up for the second month in succession. Osmond is a 6-time World Mountain Running Championship representative, with a best placing of 21st, and he has also finished 6th in the World 24 Hour Mountain Biking Championship and been an accomplished stair racer, finishing second in the Empire State Building Run Up. Steep uphill races have been his forte and he has won the gruelling Crackenback Challenge at Thredbo nearly 20 times. Like Paul Crake and Ben Dubois, Osmond’s training has been a mix of running and cycling, with the major proportion of his training being on the bike. He has a PhD and is one of Australia’s leading wind farm scientists. These days his training has been interrupted by regular overseas trips to advise on wind farm science.

Osmond ran 11.45 with David Hosking second in 12.43 after arriving only minutes before the start from his home in Broulee. CSIRO scientist Chris Helliwell who completed the Jungfrau marathon last month was third in 13.23, just holding off by 5 seconds former world veteran champion Trevor Jacobs, another who does a large part of his training on a bike, commuting by bike 20 kms each way each day to his job as an Senior Operations manager in the Murray Darling Basin Authority. Fifth was top M45 masters cycling and duathlon champion Simon Claringbold.

Elizabeth Humphries started almost 2 minutes late but surged through the field to clock an actual time of 15.05. Kerri Louttit was second fastest female in 18.06 and W65 veteran running and duathlon star Caroline Campbell was third in 22.02.

1 David Osmond 11.45, 2 David Hosking 12.43, 3 Chris Helliwell 13.23, 4 Trevor Jacobs 13.28, 5 Simon Claringbold 13.59, 6 Andrew Williams 15.22, 7 Anthony Olliffe 15.41, 8 Selwyn Snell 15.42, 9 Brian Senior 16.59, 10 Stuart Lindenmayer 17.57, 10 Denis Gray 17.57, 12 Scott Yates 19.02, 13 Cameron McCrane 19.57, 14 Michael Burt 20.01, 15 Tony Beasley 20.50, 16 Geoff Barker 21.03, 17 Eric Wainwright 23.02, 18 Rad Leovic 23.59, 19 Nick Blackaby 26.16.

1 Elizabeth Humphries 15.05, 2 Kerri Louttit 18.06, 3 Caroline Campbell 22.02.